About Wheelchair Basketball

Wheelchair basketball is currently hailed as the fastest-growing sport for athletes with a disability. The game was initiated in the late 1940s when basketball players returned from World War II to the US, unable to play able-bodied basketball, and adapted the rules to enable it to be played in wheelchairs. In 1955, the first international competition of Wheelchair Basketball was played at Stoke Mandeville. The game quickly grew throughout Europe, Asia and Australia, thus encouraging the establishment of the International Wheelchair Basketball Federation in 1993, a fully independent world governing body. It is now played in over 80 countries with over 100,00 players at all levels globally. As current Paralympic and World Champions, Australia is at the forefront of wheelchair basketball’s development. 

*NWBL (League inactive)

The National Wheelchair Basketball League (NWBL) was Australia’s national championship league, with six teams from five states competing for the title. The country’s male and female top players competed over eight rounds in most major Australian cities, culminating in a finals play-off.

*WNWBL (League inactive)

The Women’s National Wheelchair Basketball League (WNWBL) was Australia’s national league for women. The league started in 2000 and has 21 Champions.

Wheelchair leagues Tournament

The Wheelchair Leagues Tournament was modeled after Basketball Australia’s (BA) successful National Championships model, where all teams travel to one location to compete in the Championships. The model allows BA to create a festival around wheelchair basketball, bringing clubs around the country to one place to battle for the Championships. All clubs will compete in the group phase and qualify for a chance to claim the title.

All wheelchair games are played on standard-sized basketball courts with standard-height baskets. The general rules are structured to allow for the use of wheelchairs.  

For more information on the rules, see “Official Rules.” 

All players are classified from 1.0 to 4.5 depending on their functional ability; the higher the classification points, the greater the functional ability. With a maximum of 14 points allowed on the court at any time, this system encourages fair play and enables broader participation.  

For further information on classification, see “Classification.”